Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

Day and Taub confirmed to Postal Regulatory Commission

September 29, 2023

On Thursday, Sept. 28, the Senate confirmed the nominations of Thomas G. Day and Robert G. Taub to be Commissioners of the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC). After being nominated to serve as PRC Commissioners by President Biden, their nominations were advanced by the United States Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs following hearings that took place earlier this month.

As an independent agency that exercises regulatory oversight over the Postal Service, the PRC’s responsibilities include preventing anticompetitive practices, promoting accountability, adjudicating complaints, setting postal rates and helping oversee delivery service standards.

The PRC is made up of five commissioners who are nominated by the president for six-year terms and confirmed by the Senate. Taub is a two-time appointee to the Commission following unanimous confirmations by the U.S. Senate in 2011 and 2016. This will be Taub’s third term, and he previously served as the chairman of the Commission from December 2014 until January 2021. A first-term commissioner, Day will bring broad experience in both the global and domestic postal sectors, including 35 years working in senior roles at the Postal Service.

“NALC congratulates Thomas Day and Robert Taub on their confirmations to this important agency,” NALC President Brian L. Renfroe said. “We look forward to working with them to ensure the Postal Regulatory Commission fulfills its oversight responsibilities to promote a Postal Service that benefits the men and women who deliver America’s mail and our customers.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share this
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x