Thu. Jun 20th, 2024

Congressmen Comer & Connolly Receive ‘Benjamin Franklin Award for Leadership in Postal Policy’

March 13, 2023
2023 03 13 at 5.58 PM


(WASHINGTON, D.C.—March 8, 2023)— Keep US Posted has awarded Congressmen Jamie Comer (R-Ky.) and Gerry Connolly (D-Va.) with the inaugural “Benjamin Franklin Award for Distinguished Leadership in Postal Policy.” The award—presented by Keep US Posted Executive Director and former Congressman Kevin Yoder (R-Kans.) during a special reception in Washington, D.C.—is presented to members of Congress who have led efforts to preserve and protect the U.S. Postal Service for the Americans who rely on it.

Both Congressman Comer and Congressman Connolly were instrumental in the passage and implementation of the landmark Postal Service Reform Act of 2022, a bipartisan bill signed into law last April by President Biden. The new law, which represents the first major postal reform since 2006, was intended to fiscally stabilize the Postal Service and keep postage affordable. Notably, the Postal Service Reform Act integrated future retirees into Medicare, immediately generating nearly $50 billion for USPS and improving its future fiscal stability.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share this
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x