USPS Board Again Loses Its Quorum Amid Further Leadership Turmoil

The No. 2 official at the U.S. Postal Service will resign at the end of the month, the agency has announced, leaving it without a governing quorum less than a year after finally regaining one.

The resignation of Deputy Postmaster General Ronald Stroman, which USPS announced in a financial filing on Tuesday but will take effect June 1, comes days after the agency’s board of governors named Louis DeJoy as the next postmaster general. DeJoy will be the first outsider to lead the Postal Service in nearly 20 years and his selection was met with some criticism from stakeholders who raised concerns about his political connections to President Trump and the Republican party. Stroman has served in his position since 2011 and has more than 40 years of federal government experience.

Stroman’s resignation also follows the recent departure of David Williams from the postal board, who stepped down over the Trump administration’s heavy-handed role in the agency’s business decisions. Williams was seen by many stakeholders as a valuable member of the board due to his experience as a former inspector general for USPS and several other agencies.

CONTINUE READING AT » Government Executive

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments